So that is how we determine value? Hmmm.

SunComments (1024x893)

Some days I wonder why I even bother.

Since the Calgary Sun wants to continue discussing art.  I will continue to do the same.  Today they did a double page spread of new public art projects that are planned for delivery or are in progress.

It was just the facts, which I have to hand kudos to the Sun for doing this.  It is the type of information that a newspaper should cover.

Thank you to whomever was responsible.

Of course reading the comments generated from these last number of stories was wasted time that I will never get back.  But I digress.

The comments on average were rather predictable.  However, there were a few gems worth talking about.  This is the part that I wonder why I even bother.  It is like wasted breath.  But here we go nevertheless.

Look at this gem from “harcur”:

  • I believe there are hundreds of good artists in Calgary. They may not be world famous but they would donate their art for cost and the recognition of having it displayed.

Then there is this beauty from “Hollie Spencer”:

  • What about having ACAD students donate art in order to advertise themselves. I’m sure it wouldn’t take too much to find a volunteer willing to have free publicity and donate something creative to our landscape, it’s time to enjoy our local talent and have them contribute to our city’s landscape.

Or we could go with this sparkler compliments of “JT Beams” that even made the paper yesterday (see picture for full quote):

  • There’s probably a couple hundred ACAD students who would be thrilled for a shot at something in the public art space for the cost of their semester’s tuition.

Interesting comments all of them.

Even the first world problem stated in the picture above as stated by Jonathon Waldie is interesting.

I would not want to put words into someone else’s mouth.  But, just so that I am clear, I need to get this straight.  Would it be fair to summarize these previous comments this way?

  • We should get artists to donate their time, work, creative thought and technical skills to make my city look more beautiful. We should do this, because they are artists and we all know artists don’t need money.  Let’s use real money for real work or the $80,000 rusting vehicle I want for myself.  But not art.  Yup, that is it.  Anything else but art.  But if we do have to get some art, let’s not spend money on it.

I may have exaggerated the sentiments ever so slightly.  But only to make a point.

To extend those comments further, I would then propose to each of the people who made these comments and others who share these sentiments to try out the same thing with their lawyer, accountant, banker, employees and/or landlord.  They can take your pick, doesn’t matter to me.  Just remember to change the reasons accordingly, but the end result should be the same – get services rendered for free or next to free.

See what they will have to say in response.  Let me know how it goes.

Why would they consider artists to be any different?

Shouldn’t artists also have a reasonable expectation to put food on their table; have a warm place to live; maybe even take the kids to visit their cousins and grandparents at Thanksgiving.

You know, the usual.

Things the writers above probably all take for granted.

Leave a Reply

