Update on the Jordi Bonet sculpture The Others, 1967

 

Jordi_Bonet_The_Others_1967_looking_toward_downtown_2014_July_27 (1024x683)

Back in February, I wrote something about a Jordi Bonet aluminium mural that was not recorded in the 1992 Barbara Kwasney & Elaine Peake’s 1992 book entitled A Second Look at Calgary’s Public Art. This is the most recent book that attempts to catalogue public art in Calgary. It is certainly not complete, and it has some significant oversights which were pointed out at the time of publication. However, it is the closest thing to a standard reference book available on the topic at this time.

Background

Earlier today I received notification of a comment which drew attention to an error I made in my previous post from February. For that I am very thankful. I appreciate anyone that takes the time to let me know if I made an error. The error was in regards to a Jordi Bonet sculpture that I mentioned in passing at the end of the post. In that post I stated the following:

The 1967 Freestanding Sculpture

According to Kwasny and Peake, the Calgary and District Dental Association gifted a sculpture called The Others as a Centennial gift to the City. I could not find any images of it online, or in my own image library, so here is the image from the book. . .

Jordi-Bonet-Sculpture-The-Others-circa-1967-from-Krasny-and-Peake-book (1024x683)

With the construction of the west leg of the C-Train . . . the platform surrounding the Planetarium had to be partially destroyed to accommodate the right-of-way for the train tracks. Presumably as a precautionary measure it appears if this work was removed off that platform at some unknown time.

This is a City owned asset and catalogued as part of the Civic Art Collection. As a result, I suspect it has either been re-situated elsewhere in the city or alternatively is currently in storage waiting to be re-situated.

Those were my comments dating from February.

The comment I received today, states the following:

The Jordi Bonet sculpture “The Others” is still at the Planetarium; I saw it on an upper deck as I cruised past on the West LRT a couple of days ago (July 25, 2014). I was watching for it because I had recently read this blog entry 🙂

Now, the correction part.

Since it was a beautiful evening tonight, this prompted me to hop on the bicycle with the camera to document this sculpture. Afterwards I took in a bit of music from the Folk Fest as well since it was nearby and such a beautiful evening for this type of activity. I travelled along the river to get there and when I approached the planetarium, I saw the sculpture well hidden amongst the mature trees standing close to the exposed concrete walls typical of Brutalist architecture.

Jordi_Bonet_The_Others_with_Planetarium_behind_2014_July_27 (1024x683)

Assumption one:

Originally, I stated that it was on the large platform which was demolished to make way for the West leg of the C-Train expansion.

Fact:

The platform was in fact demolished along with the open air parking garage underneath. As seen in the historical photo of this beautiful Brutalist building as shown below, there is a different sculpture visibly situated on this site – a Bob Oldrich sculpture entitled Sundial, 1967. Just like the Jordi Bonet sculpture, the Bob Oldrich sculpture also was a centennial gift to the City of Calgary and is a city owned asset. According to Kwasny & Peake, the Oldrich donation was made under the auspices of the Calgary Labour Council on behalf of the Calgary labour movement in general.

Calgary_Plantetarium_historical_photo_ file_calacr-92-029-061_141

I don’t know where this Bob Oldrich sculpture currently resides, but if I was to make a rank speculation, I would think that the zoo would seem like a logical place where it would go for a couple reasons. Whether this is true, I cannot state with any certainty at this time.

Bob Oldrich is an interesting guy. I want to talk about him at a later stage. If and when I do, I will probably have a better answer at that time as well.

Also visible on the grass in the right foreground of the historical photograph is a large sculpture by John Massey Rhind [British, 1860-1936] of General James Wolfe, 1898. This sculpture which was purchased by Eric Harvie through the Riveredge Foundation. It was in turn gifted to the City in the 1980s and currently resides in a different location.

There is an interesting story here, and at some point I would like to write about it.

Assumption two:

Originally, I stated that due to the platform demolition, the Jordi Bonet sculpture location was unknown.

Fact:

When I visited the site earlier this evening, I took a photo which was taken from almost exactly the same vantage point as was the case in the Kwasny and Peake book. The peaks of the roof align, the only thing different is that there are no flags on the rooftop peaks now. It is not a very good photo as the sun was directly behind the sculpture when I took it, and as a result it is not included.

In the historical photo, the sculpture location is currently out of view to the right. Barely. Maybe around a corner, in a building that is mostly round.

Because of that it would seem as if this sculpture has never moved. The only thing that has changed since it was placed, would seem to be the trees. They have grown and as a result they now obliterate the sculpture somewhat and make it easy to miss.

* * *

There you have it. It would appear as if it was placed above one of the heating or exhaust vents when first installed. Now there is a current photo of it and new corrected information.

Now for the side note. I just hope that I did not crack a rib getting this information. I lost my balance and fell when I was taking photos at the planetarium. I went down pretty hard and it is not a pleasant feeling in my chest right now.

Leave a Reply

